Professor Tom Calma AO


Professor Tom Calma AO is an elder from the Kungarakan tribal group and a member of the Iawidja tribal group. He has been deeply embedded in Aboriginal issues for the past four decades, shedding light on inequity between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians in areas such as education, employment, and health.

In 2010, 2011 and 2014, Professor Calma received honorary doctorates from Charles Darwin, Curtin and Flinders Universities. He received the Officer of the Order of Australian (AO) Award in 2012 for distinguished service to the Indigenous community as an advocate for human rights and social justice, through his contributions to government policy and reform, and to cross cultural understanding. In 2013, he was appointed Chancellor of the University of Canberra, only the second Indigenous Australian to have served as a university chancellor.

Currently, he is co-Chair of the Commonwealth Government's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Advisory Group, the National Advisory Committee of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Suicide Prevention Evaluation Project, and the National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Leadership in Mental Health.

Professor Calma is also Co-Chair of Reconciliation Australia, the Cooperative Research Centre for Remote Economic Participation and of numerous other national boards, committees and campaigns.

Professor Jim McCluskey FAA, FAHMS


Professor James McCluskey has been Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at The University of Melbourne, since 2011. Professor McCluskey trained in Perth as a physician and pathologist before spending four years at the National Institutes of Health in the USA. On returning to Australia in 1987 he worked at Monash University until 1991 before joining Flinders University and the Australian Red Cross Blood Service. Professor McCluskey joined the University of Melbourne in 1997 as Chair in Microbiology and Immunology.

He has been a consultant to the Australian Red Cross for more than 25 years leading transplant services and advising on organ transplantation matching. He led technological innovation in donor-organ matching and established the South Australian node of the Australian Bone Marrow Donor Registry in 1992. 

He has previously been a director of the Burnet Institute, the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health and two national Cooperative Research Centres. He led the conception, construction and development of the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity, a AUD $210M joint venture between the University of Melbourne and Melbourne Health.

He is currently a Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Medical research Institute, Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre, Bionics Institute, UoM Commercial, Friends of ASHA for Indian Slums and is Chair of the Board of Nossal Institute Limited.

Professor McCluskey was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 2012 and Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences in 2015.


Belinda Duarte (née Jakiel)


Belinda Duarte (née Jakiel) was born and raised in Ballarat, Victoria. She is a descendant of the Wotjobaluk people and also has Celtic and Polish origins. Most recently, Belinda was the Inaugural Director of the Korin Gamadji Institute at Richmond Football Club, where she led the establishment of the institute’s programs across its industry partners to create pathways that enable young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians to excel. In 2012 she was acknowledged for her work in the AFL industry and awarded Football Woman of the Year.

Belinda has a strong track record in cross-sectoral engagement and a depth of experience in senior roles and governance – from voluntary, Aboriginal controlled, not-for-profit through to statutory bodies. She holds a range of positions including as Co-Chair of Reconciliation Victoria, Advisory Board Member of the Koori Youth Council, Panel Member of the Premier’s Jobs & Investment Panel, Director of Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation, Director of WasteAid, and Member of the Victorian Regional Churchill Fellowship Committee. As a qualified teacher, Belinda has also worked in education, training and community development.

Belinda has made a lifelong commitment to activating change that will have a sustainable social impact on the lives of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander young people and the broader Australian community.

Professor Shaun Ewen



Professor Ewen is Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous) at the University of Melbourne and Foundation Director of the Melbourne Poche Centre for Indigenous Health in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Melbourne

Indigenous health and health professional education are Prof Ewen’s passion and he is highly active in this area through research, teaching, and broader engagement. In 2005, he was awarded the School of Population Health Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning. In 2011, he was the recipient of the Rio Tinto Award for Excellence and Innovation in Indigenous Higher Education.

Prof Ewen has provided academic and Indigenous leadership for the Leaders in Indigenous Medical Education (LIME) project, a bi-national project of Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand. He has a clinical background in physiotherapy and holds postgraduate qualifications in international relations and education from the University of South Australia and the University of Melbourne.

Dr Melinda Webber


Dr Melinda Webber is Associate Professor in Te Puna Wananga: The School of Māori and Indigenous Education at the Faculty of Education and Social Work, University of Auckland.

Melinda is the University of Auckland Co-Director for the Atlantic Fellows for Social Equity programme and a former Research Director of the Starpath Project - a pioneering research project focused on equitable outcomes for New Zealand students who have been under-represented in tertiary education.

Melinda has been a Fulbright/Nga Pae o te Maramatanga Indigenous Scholar and has published widely on the nature of ethnic identity development and iwi distinctiveness, examining the ways race, ethnicity, culture and identity impact the lives of young people, particularly Māori students . In 2016, Melinda was awarded a Royal Society Te Āparangi Marsden Fast-Start Grant, and in 2017 Melinda was awarded a prestigious Rutherford Discovery Fellowship. Melinda serves as an elected member of council for Te Apārangi – The Royal Society of New Zealand and is Co-Editor of MAI Journal: A New Zealand Journal of Indigenous Scholarship.

Jason Glanville (Ex-Officio)


Jason Glanville was appointed Program Director for the Atlantic Fellows for Social Equity program in April 2017. Jason, a Wiradjuri man from south-western New South Wales, is a senior leader who has spent more than 20 years working in a range of community-based Indigenous organisations, State and Federal Governments and non-government peak bodies. 

He has most recently served as inaugural CEO of the National Centre of Indigenous Excellence, has been Director of Programs and Strategy at Reconciliation Australia, and remains Chair of the Australian Indigenous Governance Institute. He was a member of the Steering Committee for the creation of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples.

In 2010, Jason was named in the (Sydney) magazine’s 100 most influential people of Sydney and in 2011 he was featured in Boss Magazine’s True Leaders list. Jason was appointed as an Associate Professor (Adjunct) at the National Centre for Indigenous Studies at the Australian National University in 2016.